Vegan/Free From Chocolate Tart (Grain, egg, soy and dairy free)

Vegan/Free From Chocolate Tart (Grain, egg, soy and dairy free)

Vegan/Free From Chocolate Tart

Vegan chocolate tart made using no milk, eggs, butter, soya or grains. I have made this recipe using several different types of nuts and also other kinds of dried fruit but I like this combination best.

Cook Time

Prep time: 15 min
Cook time: 1 hour
Ready in: 1 hour 15 min
Yields: Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 300g Mixed nuts, (or nuts of your choice)
  • 200g Medjool dates
  • 50g Icing sugar, (Optional)
  • 4 medium Avocados
  • 200g Cocoa, (Use cocoa rather than drinking or hot chocolate mixes as these often contain milk or milk products)
  • 300g Agave nectar, (Golden syrup is a good substitute)
  1. Blend the nuts in a food processor until they are ground. Alternatively or if you don’t have a food processor some types of nut can be bought already ground.
  2. Cut the dates in half and add to the nuts and pulse until they are chopped and the mixture sticks together. Sugar can be added to taste if required. Icing sugar works best I have found.
  3. Press the nut and date mixture into a cake tin, silicone mould or similar. Cover this with a lid if available or clingfilm and place in the fridge while you prepare the filling.
  4. Clean off any stray base mixture from the food processor bowl. Otherwise you will end up with crunchy bits in your filling.
  5. To make the filling, half the avocados and remove the stones. Scoop the avocado from the skins into the food processor. Add the cocoa and agave nectar. Process until smooth and uniform in colour. Check for taste and add more agave or cocoa if required.
  6. Spoon the filling on top of the base and freeze for around 1 hour or until quite firm.

Variations

I have made this tart several times and have used just one type of nuts such as almonds for the base and also different dried fruits such as raisins or mixed berries. Each is nice but slightly different in it’s own way.

Golden syrup can be used instead of agave and honey could be used but if you are making this for vegans check with them first as many do not eat honey.

Tart could also be decorated with berries or other fruits. Or you could use edible flowers or shop bought cake decorations.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s